Cyclists assault Panorama Point

June 4, 2005


Panorama Point- The 2005 Mt. Hood Cycling Classic kicked off Thursday evening with the Panorama Prologue- a 2.5 mile time trial. The course, located on a scenic eastside ridge overlooking the Hood River Valley, was windy but dry. A time trial is a race against the clock. Competitors start in 30-second intervals, so there is no pack racing or strategy, other than to travel the 2.5 miles as fast as possible.


As anticipated, Canadian National Time Trial Champion Svein Tuft, of British Columbia, posted the best time of 5:00 minutes flat. The Symmetrics team rider averaged 30 miles-per-hour to set the pace. Finishing second, only seven seconds behind Tuft, was last year's overall champion Russell Stevenson of team Benaroya Research. In third place with a time of 5:09 was Oregon's Ryan Trebon, riding for team Kona Les Gets.


Chrissy Ruiter, of Bend, riding for team Ford Basis posted the fastest women's time with 5:42. Tied for second place with 5:44 were both Lisa Magness, Oregon- team Hutch's, and Cynthia Mommsen, California- The Olympic Club.


Tom Morgan, Oregon- team Bike n' Hike/Giant, sprinted to a commanding lead in the Men's Category 3 division with a time of 5:10. Morgan finished 19 seconds over second place finisher Steve Wagner, Washington- Benaroya Research. In third, with a time of 5:30 was Paul Carter, California-Pegasus/Allegiant Air.


Roger Worthington, California -team Labor Power, won the Men's Masters 40+ category with a time of 5:26. In second place was Brian McGuire (California), who finished only two seconds behind Worthington. Local rider David Zimbleman, White Salmon- team Excel Sports, finished in third place with a time of 5:34.


The next stage of the Mt. Hood Cycling Classic was on Friday morning. The Cooper Spur Circuit Race started and finished at Cooper Spur Mountain Resort.

Latest stories

Latest video:

I Can't Keep Quiet singers at "Citizen Town Hall"

‘I can’t keep quiet,’ sing members of an impromptu choir in front of Hood River Middle School Saturday prior to the citizen town hall for questions to Rep. Greg Walden. The song addresses female empowerment generally and sexual violence implicitly, and gained prominence during the International Women’s Day events in January. The singers braved a sudden squall to finish their song and about 220 people gathered in HRMS auditorium, which will be the scene of the April 12 town hall with Rep. Greg Walden, at 3 p.m. Enlarge

Log in to comment

News from our Community Partners