DeHart, Gleasman lead HRV lacrosse in season awards

June 11, 2011

The Hood River Valley boys lacrosse team capped another successful season with two players on the Columbia all-conference team and another on the all-state team.

David DeHart and Andrew Thompson were both named first-team all-league, with DeHart being named as a defender and Thompson a midfielder. DeHart was also named honorable mention all-state.

Making second-team all-league were goalie Malcolm McCurdy, midfielder Miles Mayer and defenseman Christopher Dirks.

In addition to their league awards, Thompson and DeHart were also named co-MVPs.

Thompson was named the offensive MVP after scoring 39 goals and winning 55 percent of his face-offs. DeHart won on defense for constantly covering the opposing team's best attackers and playing shutdown defense.

Jacob McHale was named most inspirational player, Gabe Holste was named the team's most improved player, Dirks was named the team's "unsung hero" and McCurdy received the team's "got your back" award after improving his save percentage by 9 percent from the previous year.

"This was a team that showed a lot of resilience and perserverance. They could have packed it in at low points of the season, but kept the faith and always bounced back from a loss of any kind," HRV coach MacJackson said. "Very importantly, it worked hard and was focussed in practice."

The HRV girls had one of its most successful seasons to date and also had several players on the all-league list.

Attacker Margaret Gleasman led the way with a first-team all-league nod. Goalkeeper Christina Silva-Perez and attacker Mackenzie Bassham were both named second team. Midfielder Alicia Everitt was named honorable mention.

Midfielder Kimmee Costello was named the team's most valuable player.

Latest stories

Latest video:

Lawnmower torches Arbor Vitae on Portland Drive

The riding lawn mower driven by Norma Cannon overheated and made contact with dry arbor vitae owned by Lee and Norma Curtis, sending more than a dozen of the tightly-packed trees up in flames. The mower, visible at far right, was totaled. No one was injured; neighbors first kept the fire at bay with garden hoses and Westside and Hood River Fire Departments responded and doused the fire before it reached any structures. Westside Fire chief Jim Trammell, in blue shirt, directs firefighters. The video was taken by Capt. Dave Smith of Hood River Fire Department. Enlarge

Log in to comment