Saturday, February 1, 2014
On Super Bowl Sunday, Feb. 2, the Hood River Police Department will be conducting a traffic safety blitz campaign. The purpose of this campaign will be to focus on people driving under the influence of intoxicants. This is in cooperation with the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.
This will be the first of several high-visibility enforcement efforts throughout the year. There will be a higher number of police officers on patrol during these enforcement periods.
Most people are aware of the .08 percent blood alcohol limit. A person may still be impaired under a .08 percent blood alcohol content (BAC). You can also be charged with a DUII if you are under the influence of a controlled substance, inhalant or prescription medications. It is the duty of the police officer to determine if a person if too impaired to operate a motor vehicle.
The offense of Driving Under the Influence of Intoxicants (ORS 813.010) is a class A misdemeanor. This offense can be punishable by jail time, fines and the suspension of your driver’s license, ranging from 90 days to three years, depending on your driving record and past DUII offenses.
The Hood River Police Department asks that people drive responsibly. If you feel you have had too much to drink or are not in the right frame of mind, please request a ride from a sober party or call a taxi.
For two weeks beginning Feb. 10, the Hood River City Police Department will be conducting a traffic safety blitz campaign. The focus will be on seat belts, speed and cellphone use while driving.
The purpose of this traffic enforcement is to promote safety, compliance and to reduce the number of motor vehicle-related injuries or deaths. This enforcement campaign will take place throughout the state.
Statewide crash fatality and injury rates have dropped 59 percent and 37 percent, respectively, since passage of the adult belt law in 1990. The law, combined with active enforcement, has resulted in a 2013 Oregon belt usage rate of 98 percent for all occupants, placing Oregon among the top two belt-use states in the U.S. This compares to a 2012 nationwide average rate of 86 percent among all states.
Oregon law requires a child weighing less than 40 pounds to be properly restrained by a child safety seat. A child under 1 year of age or weighing less than 20 pounds must be restrained in a rear-facing child seat. A child over 40 pounds but under age 8 or less than 4 feet 9 inches tall must be restrained in either a child seat with harness system or in a booster seat that raises the child up so that a lap and shoulder belt system fit correctly.
Law enforcement will not only be checking for persons wearing seat belts, but also that they are being worn properly. Please take the time to buckle up and keep your loved ones safe.
More like this story
- YESTERYEARS: New Safeway store on Second and Cascade expected in 1947
- Pritchett, Haskins to wed
- Roots and Branches: Cherry Harvest
- Pick of the Week: Children’s Park public meeting July 20
- Travelogue: Panama
- Another Voice: Juntos program ‘critical to success of students in their education’
- Editor's Notebook: By George, one’s own name is a basic sweet spot in your sense of identity
- Letters to the Editor for July 19
- Another Voice: Preserve our agricultural heritage by making Tanner Ranch a park
- The comfort of quilts: Comfort Quilt Project underway at Providence Hood River Memorial Hospital
Peter Marbach hurries to save his tent from the wind
Peter Marbach comes to the rescue of his wind blown tent. Enlarge